Becoming A Mentoring Manager

Success There are many different management styles, some seem to work better in certain situations than others and some just don’t seem to work too well at all.

Take for instance the Autocratic management style, not too many people really like working for a dictator, but in some cases with certain people having someone dictate to them what needs to be done and how each moment of the day needs to go works fine for them.  They know what is expected from them and that works for them.  Many people are happy working with this management style.

Then there is the Democratic management style where the manager still dictates to their staff what needs to be done, but they then allow their staff to decide how it will get done, as long as it gets done on time. This style also can work well as employees are told what to do, but yet have a say in how they accomplish it.  They feel somewhat empowered.

My favorite is the Teamwork style of management where each person has certain tasks to do that they are ultimately accountable for, but they also interact with each other and help one another as the need arises.  They work together for common goal of the office each day and the rule is “no man is an island” they are in it together, all for one and one for all.

There is an attribute that really can make the difference in no matter what management style you choose and that is to be a manager that mentors their staff.

When you mentor someone you are taking them under your wing, investing in them in order for them to grow and become more successful in the company and more valuable to the company.  There is no holding employees back from learning more, doing more and being able to achieve more.

The better your staff performs and enjoys their job, the better you can perform and grow also.  Mentoring takes an investment of your time but the return is 10 fold.  Here are just five of the benefits of being a mentoring manager and there are many more, but even if it was just these five it would be well worth the investment.

1. You create a caring and empowering relationship with your staff members.

2. Employee retention, people do not leave jobs that they like and feel valued at.

3. The managers load becomes lighter and more enjoyable.

4. The positive reinforcement creates employees that are willing to go the extra mile.

5. It drives loyalty to you and to the company, which in turn creates loyal customers.

Mentoring managers are always looking out for their employee’s best interests and in turn their employees end up doing the same.

08/05/14

7 thoughts on “Becoming A Mentoring Manager

  1. Pingback: IAB Small Business News : Saturday May 12 2012 « Independent Association of Businesses

  2. It is important that team leaders adapt their style to suit circumstances. I recently set-up a new team and recruited new people. During the forming phase I tended to take a more directive approach. Now that we’re getting to know each other I’m delegating more often and adopting a coaching style.

    This is about investing in the team and our future. Long-term strengths are developed and performance improves. I like your list.

    • Hi Martin
      Thank you for your comment. I agree with you about the long term investment in your team. It is a lot of work and time, but it is so worth it when they take off on their own. Talk soon!

      • Hello Tina,

        I been thinking about your post this week. And I’m thinking that we look at mentoring in different ways. In the UK and Europe is largely about encouragement and getting the mentee to do things for themselves. Whereas you describe more of a sponsoring role where the mentee relies on advice and action from the mentor. Is this a correct interpretation? Is this typical of US mentoring?

        I ask because I writing a post on mentoring and coaching and would like to understand if there I should make a distinction between North American and Euopean approached.

        As ever,
        Martin

  3. Hi Martin, mentoring can be done in different ways, I think it depends on the position of the mentee. For myself being the manager I mentor my staff so they can become empowered to work and make decisions on their own within the boundaries of their position. They always know if they have a question or idea tht I am there to bounce it off of and give them feedback. But in my case I am ultimately responsible for overseeing their success and repercussions of their mistakes, as I answer to the business owner.

    Then there are mentors that we personally may have that help us with their wisdom, who have gone through what we have and have been successful. For me I have one who is in my profession and one who is not. I can share my thoughts on managment and employee issues and get their input so that I can make better decisions.

    I’m not sure if this information helps you, let me know.

  4. Hello Tina,

    Thanks for clarification. I think we have similar approaches but maybe use different labels. I mentor someone and encourage them to do things themselves. In contrast, at the office coach team members. This may be about skills (giving feedback) or setting goals.

    As ever,
    Martin

Leave a Reply

