Have You Mastered Self-Mastery?

The book of spells I subscribe to Mind Tools it is a great site with a wealth of information on career excellence.  I recently came across an article on the site about Self-Mastery, which caught my eye.

What do you think about when you hear Self-Mastery?  I wasn’t real sure, but of course I knew it had to do with one’s self and what you do with yourself.   Self-mastery actually means you have accomplished the ability to control yourself in all situations.  Yes, you read this correctly.. all situations…that is not easy.

We may master in some, but in all?  Self-Mastery is essential in being able to reach your goals.  It begins with a vision of how you want your life to be.

Being able to control your attitude and emotions play a major role in self-mastery.  You also need to be able to focus and have the willpower to follow through in small and large tasks and goals.

As I read this article I realized that mastering ones self is a life long process, and not everyday will we be able to achieve every goal we have for ourselves.  I think we need to have the mindset that this is our ultimate achievement and take the daily steps toward it.

As for focus we need to focus on something positive everyday and be thankful that we are alive and can a positive impact on those we come in contact with.

Being thankful will set the tone for our day.  Ultimately, Self-mastery pushes us forward to take action to achieve what our vision is for the day, our week and our life.

“People with goals succeed because they know where they’re going.”

~Earl Nightingale

Mind Tools on Self-Mastery

08/06/14

9 thoughts on “Have You Mastered Self-Mastery?

    • Thank you, I think that if we wake up each morning being thankful that we are alive and what the possibilities are for the day that we can master certain areas of our lives much easier. Then there are those other areas that are a bit tougher, that are more of a challenge. 🙂

  1. I couldn’t say it better. I certainly have not mastered myself in EVERY situation but I’m working on it daily. Most people either don’t know how, don’t know they should or don’t think its possible. Powerful wake up call for all. Thanks. 🙂

  2. Hey Tina! I absolutely loved this post. Thanks for sharing… You are so right in saying that we can master some areas, but all.. well that is the challenge. Thanks again for the insight!

  3. “Self-mastery actually means you have accomplished the ability to control yourself in all situations.”

    I love this definition of self-mastery, Tina. And as you mentioned, it’s not easy!

    I’ve gotten to the point where I now do my best to figure out what I can do to improve when I get out of control with my emotions. What “rules” have I set up in my mind to cause this? How can I look at the situation in a way that better serves me, so I don’t react the same way next time?

    This has been extremely challenging, because I know it means that I am the one who is responsible. On the other hand, this also means I have the power to do something about it.

    • Yes! You hit the nail on the head Greg. We do have the power to do something. So often people have incidents their lives where they feel powerless. I find it so rewarding when I can help those people catch a glimpse of what they could do, then encourage and nurture the to move toward their desired goal. Thank you for your input and insight. 🙂

Leave a Reply

