How Can You Be A Better Manager?

halloween 2006 superman 003 If you are a manager or looking to become one you may want to know what  you can do to be the best manager to those you manage.

Continuing education is the key to improving not only your skills but the skills of those you serve.  The better you are at being a manager the better your staff or team wants to do and they have you to look to as an example.

For many managers outside education is either not offered or not heard of.  I know of a person who is in a managerial position just because he moved up the ranks of his company but has never received any formal training on how to manage.

If you want to be a great manager there are many online courses, videos and thousands of books that you could read.  There is one in particular that I know will give your skills a super boost, it is titled “The Supermanager.”

I have mentioned this book before when I first read it, but just recently I developed a managers workshop around it that I did at a conference and it was great.  The book has a great storyline, 7 points to follow and can be read in a couple of hours.

Below is a short video we did about the workshop and tomorrow our blog will guest host, Greg Blencoe, the author of the book, who will share with us about “Good Management Practices.”

If you are interested in becoming a “Supermanager”, you will want to check this out.

http://www.supermanagerblog.com/about/

08/12/13

18 thoughts on “How Can You Be A Better Manager?

  1. Thanks for passing on this resource, Tina. You’re right that in many organizations, development of managers is not a priority. And in those cases (and in all, in fact) managers and leaders should take ownership of their own development, continuously seek ways to become stronger managers and leaders, and not simply shrug their shoulders and accept a lack of formal support for their development as an excuse for not simply “doing it.”

    • Hi Trevor, thank you for your comment. I found this book to be a great, resource to read and one of the great things is that you have a hard time putting it down because you want to know the next point to becoming a supermanager. The group I shared this with at the workshop could not wait to get home and read it for themselves. It is a resource that is worth passing the word around about. Enjoy your evening

  2. Tina,

    Thanks so much for the post and thanks so much to you and Jesus for making this video. I absolutely love it! And I really appreciate all of your support for the book. It’s very inspiring to me.

    Also, I’m really looking forward to my guest post here tomorrow.

    And the picture of Jesus in this post is the best!

    • Hi Greg

      I am glad you liked the video, we just went for it and it seemed to come out fine. We both like the book so much and will always promote it any chance we get. (just dropped a hint on another blog about it). The simplicity of your book it one of the things that attracts me to it. It has a great storyline and for me I could not wait to find out what was next. People today need simplicity, something that they can do that does not require a lot of time invested (as we have so little). Let me know if there is anything that I can do for you in the future and our blog is always open to you as a guest writer.
      🙂

      • Tina,

        I’m really glad you appreciate the simplicity of the book, because I’ve always thought that was so important. As you mentioned, people just don’t have much time. Therefore, it’s best to try to make the points that need to be made in as little time as possible. I remember reading lots of management books that I thought had some good information in them, but my view was that most of the book wasn’t really needed. I wanted to write a book that was simple and also had a lot of depth. The Supermanager is my 5th try and it took me many years to get to this point, but I know I’ve gotten it right this time. Now it’s just a matter of marketing. Frankly, not many copies are being sold right now, but I know some wonderful things are going to happen once more people find out about it. I really appreciate your mentioning the book on another blog. And thanks so much for allowing me to be a guest writer in the future.

      • Greg, author Sue Monk Kidd (The Secret Life Of Bees) is a good friend of my Aunt Dollie’s and I have had the privilage of meeting her and her daughter who is also an author. Sue wrote for many, many years articles in Guidepost and other small writings that were never really known of until she hit it big. Hearing her tell her story was very motivating as I too have hopes of writing a book. Please keep writing, and writing and writing… if it is a pleasure to you then do it. You are correct good things will happen. 🙂

  3. Hi Greg. Thanks for the compliment. Tina and I love creating content to share. I still remember the day she got her The SuperManager book and was eager to share it with others. It would be great to have you as a guest on our podcast.

  4. Tina,

    Thanks for sharing the story of Sue Monk Kidd. I’ve noticed that so many writers who have become well-known wrote for many, many years before that happened. I’m really enjoying blogging and commenting on other blogs. I will definitely keep on writing! And I think your writing a book is a great idea. I think it’s very impressive how you produce so much interesting content day after day here on the blog.

    • I really love writing especially about everyday situations at work and life. I am always looking for the story. Life and people are so interesting if we just take a moment to let each encounter sink in. Have a great evening Greg and just an FYI today is the most hits our blog has had yet 🙂

      • Tina,

        Your love for writing really shows. I really enjoy reading your posts. And that’s wonderful news about getting the most hits on your blog in a day. 🙂 Have a great evening, too!

      • Thank you Greg, let me know when you would like to contribute as a guest writer again. We are looking forward to hearing from you. As an aside one of the managers that was at my workshop saw my post on facebook and commented how much she loved the book. I asked her to please pass along your link and she was more than happy to do so. 🙂

  5. Tina,

    I’ll be sure to let you know. I really appreciate the opportunity. And thanks so much for letting me know that one of the managers at the workshop commented that she loved the book and that you asked her to pass along the link. That made my day!

Leave a Reply

