Battle of the Attitudes

306745_wolves_howling_wolves1_1

I have been doing research recently for a lecture I am preparing on “Attitudes.” I am repeatedly reminded that it really is up to each of us which attitude we are going to choose each moment of each day.

I happened upon this story in my search regarding clashing of attitudes in the workplace and I thought I would share it with you.  Not only do we clash with the attitudes of others, but we have a battle of attitudes going on each day within ourselves.

Two Wolves

One evening an old Cherokee told his grandson about a battle that goes on inside people.
He said, “My son, the battle is between two wolves inside us all. One is Evil. It is anger, envy, jealousy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment, inferiority, lies, false pride, superiority, and ego.”

“The other is Good. It is joy, peace, love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, benevolence, empathy, generosity, truth, compassion, and faith.”
The grandson thought about it for a minute and then asked his grandfather, “Which wolf wins?”
The old Cherokee simply replied, “The one you feed.”

~author unknown

Isn’t it great that we have the choice?  What attitude will you choose to serve today?

09/16/14

10 thoughts on “Battle of the Attitudes

  1. Nice post Tina! I love Coyote Teaching. I must admit, I woke up this morning feeling very tired, very unmotivated. I immediately went on wordpress for inspiration and of course found it. We are all responsible for our attitudes and motivation. If weu choose to sit and wallow, that’s on us, not on our environment or the people around us.

    • Hi Alesandra

      I am glad that today’s post was able to provide motivation for you. It is a great feeling when we realize we have the choice, yet once we admit that then we are responsible for that choice 🙂

  2. I love that parable – every time I hear it! 🙂 It’s so hard for most of us to be rational at times of stress but that is what we must train ourselves to be. Only by being aware of our thoughts at these times can we really ‘choose’ to change them. Change your thoughts and we change our feelings. Change our feelings and we inevitably change our actions. It’s a tough challenge and one that takes continued practice, but the rewards are life changing. 🙂

  3. I was facilitating a workshop recently and the whole concept of attitude choice was particularly evident at one session. There was one participant who very clearly did not want to be there and her attitude clearly showed. She was late in the morning and after every break; she refused to participate in any activities, there was eye-rolling and heavy sighs during all group activities and flat out refusals to answer any questions directed at her. She made the choice that morning to have a bad a day. I am a big believer that the attitude we chose today is the biggest indicator of our success tomorrow.

    • Hi Laurie, I have met that person myself at seminars. I like your last sentence “that the attitude we chose today is the biggest indicator of our success tomorrow” Excellent quote you came up with my friend!

Leave a Reply

