Do You Choose To Complain?

751637_ironic_door_sign Have you ever wonder what the ratio is between complaining and being thankful was?  I know that I hear more complaints from the people I come in contact with than thanks.  Do people focus more on bad things?

I Googled around and the most popular answer to that question is that negative things have more impact on our lives and therefore the effect is greater than when something good happens.   I guess this does make sense, but does it have to be this way?

We need to remember that we have a choice.  Even when bad things happen, we can look for that silver lining at some point and allow something positive to come from a negative situation.

I am truly thankful for many things and my job is high on the list, as I am sure it is also on yours, especially since most of us know people who have lost their jobs in the recent past and are desperately struggling.

As I was surfing the web I was surprised that there was not much out there on the topic of being thankful for having a job or what about having a job that made people thankful.

I then remembered an article I received from,  Jeff Herring the “Article Guy” on Gratitude, (the link is below) and it was just what I was looking for.

In his article he talks about “The 11 Universal Laws for Thanksliving” no there is not a typo it is thanksliving, learning to be thankful for living, the past, the future, and 9 other reasons.

We do have so much to be thankful for if we take the time to really focus on what we have and not on what we do not have or what is right and not what is wrong.

Although I am very thankful to be employed in a career that I love, reading through these 11 Laws I have found that there really is so much more that I am thankful for.

Take time to focus on gratitude, click the link below you will be thankful that you did.

Thanksliving

08/13/14

10/26/16

2 thoughts on “Do You Choose To Complain?

  1. it is more natural to focus on the bad than the good. our world is naturally pessimistic so it takes real effort to turn that boat around!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.